top of page

Les diplômes de FLE

(Français Langue Étrangère) = French as a Foreign Language (FFL)


Nationally recognized diplomas


DILF: Diplôme initial de langue française (Initial French Language Diploma)

              Level A.1.1

DELF: Diplôme d'études en langue française (French Language Studies Diploma)

               Level A1-B2.


DALF: Diplôme approfondi de langue française (Advanced French Language Diploma)
               Level C1-C2


These diplomas, intended solely for non-French citizens, provide official certification of proficiency, practice and mastery of the French language. They are issued "for life". The DELF and DALF diplomas can be sat for and obtained independently of each other, in the same country or in different countries and without any restriction on the time period.

The DALF certifies that its holder is apt to receive a higher education in France under suitable conditions and exempts its holder from any other French language exams for admission into French universities.

Proficiency tests


TCF - Test de Connaissance du Français (French Knowledge Test)

This is a general French language proficiency test for all non-French speakers who, for professional or personal reasons, wish to obtain quick, simple, reliable certification of their knowledge in French. The test places candidates on a six-level scale (corresponding to the six levels of the European Framework for Languages). 

TEF - Test d'Evaluation de Français (French Evaluation Test)

The Paris Chamber of Commerce and Industry’s TEF test is recognised by the French national educational system. It also places candidates on the European Framework for Languages six-level scale. Students wishing to enrol in first-year courses at a French university can sit for the TEF tests.

TFI - Test de Français International (International French Test)

The TFI is to French as a Foreign Language what the TOEIC (Test of English for International Communication) is to English. It is mainly used in Canada.
The TFI evaluates and certifies the French skills of non-native speakers and follows the same formats and quality criteria as the TOEIC*, which has been the main test of English proficiency for over twenty years. This test is recognized internationally by corporations, public and international institutions, and higher education establishments.


French citizenship test preparation


Under the new provisions introduced by the French Interior Ministry, as of 1 January 2012, all persons needing to justify their level of French proficiency as part of an application for French citizenship must now qualify for the B1 level in spoken French.


The following French proficiency tests are approved:

-       TCF

-       TEF

-       BULATS

-       TFI

-       DCL FLE


Applicants with DELF B1 diplomas or higher are exempted from this procedure.



bottom of page